Monday, November 29, 2004

Israel and the U.N.

Israpundit marks today as the anniversary of the UN resolution that partitioned western Palestine into a predominately Jewish state and a predominately Arab one. In today's international political climate of 189 countries that wish the other 2 never existed, it's difficult to remember that Israel was created with the approval of the U.N., in a vote dominated by European nations.

The resolution passed 33 to 13, with 10 abstentions.

The countries that cast “yes” votes were: Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Byelorussia, Canada, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Haiti, Iceland, Liberia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Sweden, Ukraine, Union of South Africa, USSR, USA, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

The countries that voted “no” were: Afghanistan, Cuba, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, and Yemen.

The countries that abstained were: Argentina, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Honduras, Mexico, United Kingdom, and Yugoslavia.